Best Music 2016 – Top 10 Albums

the-best-2016For me, choosing best songs is much easier than picking best albums, because I just don’t have enough time to listen to all the albums I want to, let alone listen to them enough times to decide whether any might be a “favorite.” So all I can do is look at my play counts (I listen to most everything on a digital player that marks each time I play a song) and then ask myself, “Am I playing the entire album or just a song or two?” Sometimes an album might have a theme, where all the songs are related to one another, which can often work to bring a cohesion to the whole. I’m thinking of Beyonce’s Lemonade, though that didn’t make my list. In fact, probably 8 of my top 10 albums of 2016 aren’t on the majority of “best of” lists that will be making the rounds. I’ll double check this when I’m done, as I’d hate to be revealed as a liar. But unlike seemingly every list that has Beyonce, Radiohead, David Bowie, Bon Iver, A Tribe Called Quest, Frank Ocean and Sturgill Simpson — and most of those albums contained several strong songs — mine is less about scoring cool points and more about what did I play and not even consider skipping any songs. A few of these artists will make my “best songs of 2016” lists, but for most, it was the sum of the parts that stood out for me, not the parts of the some.

There are several albums that I expect might make my top 10 if I had more time to listen to them. Five of these are:

Neko Case, K.D. Lang & Laura Veirs – case/lang/veirs

Fruit Bats – Absolute Loser

Ages and Ages – Something to Ruin

Anderson .Paak – Malibu

Black Market Brass – Cheat and Start a Fight

You might think this is just a tricky way of adding five more items to a 10 best list and maybe you’re right. But I haven’t even listened to those albums once all the way through so it’s a combination of numerical manipulation and genuinely moral standing.

If you want to call me out – it should be that I’ve got two number 10’s below… 

music-is-life-wallpaper

10. Teddy Thompson & Kelly Jones – Little Windows

10. Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop – Love Letter for Fire (tie)

I have a soft spot for sweet pop song male/female duets, dating back to, probably Barbra Streisand and Neil Diamond (or was it Kris Kristofferson?). And in 2016 two new duets albums stood out for me.

Teddy Thompson is the son of Richard and Linda Thompson and he definitely inherited the musical gene. He’s partnered here with Kelly Jones, whose been singing with a number of folk and country-tinged bands over the years (though I hadn’t heard of her before this) and their voices melt like buttah (my SNL Streisand nod). You might think that Little Windows is an Everly Brothers tribute album or a covers record of unsung singer songwriters from the 50s and 60s. But that just goes to show how timeless and classic the 10 short tracks on the album are. I would bet this will be a staple on my next futuristic music device in ten years time.

Sam Beam is the singer/songwriter for Iron & Wine, who have been making atmospheric and melodic Americana music since 2002. Jesca Hoop, who I knew nothing about before Love Letter for Fire, has been a prolific solo artist for almost as long as Sam, with, if I’m to believe the internet reviews, a more eclectic, experimental edge. I’ll look into her music later and get back to you. There isn’t a weak track on this, their first album together. And it gets better with repeated listens.

 

9. Matt Corby – Telluric

This might be my first “Idol” to make a top 10 list for me. Though, to be fair, it was Australian Idol, back in 2007 and he was the runner up. At that time I was watching Melinda Doolittle get knocked out by Blake Lewis on American Idol, getting riled up for some stupid reason. “It was a big fucking mistake,” Matt said a year or two later, which a lot of runner ups seem to say. But I knew none of this when I heard “Telluric” for the first time. I just came across it on a new release list, loved the sound and then did some research into who this groovy dude was. I was taken in by the soulful, raw vocals, the lush but spare production, the touches of folk and electronic. It’s got a downtempo deliberate pacing, perfect for a romantic evening or a rainy night. It’ll fit into a nice spot between a Maxwell and Bryan Ferry mix.

 

8. Konono No.1 – Meets Batida

Konono No.1 (is there a Konono No.2?), a fantastic Congolese band known for its homemade instruments, has been making music since the 1970s. Though their albums have only been available in the U.S. since 2000. Not sure why that is, but anyone who knows their African music puts Konono at the top of the list. These guys are that good. This time they are working with Batida, an Angolan-born, Portugal-based producer known for his electronic wizardry. It’s a hypnotic, trippy album that stands up to any of their earlier albums. Gets better each time I listen to it.

 

7. Wilco – Wilco Schmilco

I had relegated Wilco to the “pleasant but unmemorable” bin, ever since Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, 14 years ago. I’ve always found a couple songs to like on the subsequent albums, but nothing made me stop and take notice. Until Wilco Schmilco. They’ve found the right blend of noise to pop on this album, but most of all, the songwriting seems somehow both simpler and more complex. I liked it on the first listen and after the 10th listen I love it even more. And I love the title too. Partly a reference to Nilsson Schmilsson, but from what I heard, it was a placeholder title that ended up sticking.

 

6. Atmosphere – Fishing Blues

This is the hip-hop album of 2016 for me. Although I love the first track of A Tribe Called Quest’s highly revered new album We Got it From Here… “The Space Program,” the rest of the record doesn’t match up for me. It’s hit and miss. “Fishing Blues,” though lacking a “Space Program” level anchor, is simply an album without a miss. I play it on shuffle and enjoy every song. It may be a bit safe and melodic for most hip hop lovers, but as a dude pushing 50 (maybe on the other side of it, depending on when you are reading this), who gravitated to the conscious rap of the late 80s/early 90s, Atmosphere is the perfect throwback to that fertile era. And if you like this, check out the rest of the albums by the other Minneapolis artists that make up the Doomtree Collective (which Sean Daley –the originator of Atmosphere — started).

 

5. Michael Kiwanuka  – Love & Hate

I will give a shout out to the one music discussion podcast I listen to religiously, Sound Opinions, for exposing me to this enormously talented R&B artist. I can remember exactly where I was when I heard “Black Man in A White World.” I was in a hotel gym, riding a rickety recumbent bike, listening to Jim Derigatis and Greg Kot wax rhapsodic about Love & Hate, comparing it to Marvin Gaye’s Let’s Get it On. High praise indeed and an apt comparison. This has the same soulful blend of political and romantic themes that the Gaye classic is known for. I’m shocked it hasn’t taken the world by storm. Guess we are too splintered a world for something this essential to make any traction.

 

4. Eleanor Friedberger – New View

I was never a big fan of the Fiery Furnaces, Friedberger’s more widely known alternative duo with her brother Matthew. The songs gave me nothing to grab onto. Which is why I am so blown away by Eleanor’s exquisitely charming Laurel-Canyon infused 3rd solo album, New View. There are some oblique lyrics, but the majority of the songs here are laced with an unfiltered honesty that give each song an intimate, timeless charm.

 

3. Russian Circles – Guidance

Holy shit does this album rock. If I need an album to put on to get my energy flowing, to play should I ever decide to train for a marathon, it would be Russian Circles’ Guidance. The best way I know to describe it is: imagine a very dramatic orchestral movie soundtrack; now picture that soundtrack performed by a heavy metal instrumental trio. If you are familiar with Explosions in the Sky, Russian Circles are the Many More Explosions in the Sky. They can go from delicate acoustic dreamscapes to thundering fireballs of death in a flash. I would love to see these guys play in a surround sound theater one day. If you like your heavy music laced with dynamics and impeccable musicianship, this is your band.

 

2. King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Nonagon Infinity

You might think that with a name like King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard that this is going to be some strange sounding music. And you wouldn’t be wrong. This nutty Australian psychedelic band has been around for almost a decade, but I hadn’t heard of them before 2016. Nonagan Infinity, I think, is some sort of concept album, with recurring musical themes, no musical breaks, and where the last track, “Road Train,” supposedly loops back to the first track, if played on repeat. Thus the “Infinity” of the title. There are bits of heavy metal guitars, freaky vocals, strangely distorted tinny production, pounding drums; all run through a psychedelic chainsaw. I’ve played this one more than any other album on this list. This album reeks with inspiration and when I listen to it, even though the lyrics are really beside the point, I get high, I get pumped up, I am reminded of the power that music has on my moods and psyche. Some truly sick drumming throughout.

 

1. Fantastic Negrito – The Last Days of Oakland 

How in the HE-double-hockey sticks has this amazing, timely album not made it to any top album picks of 2016? Does nobody understand how fantastic Fantastic Negrito is? Even I didn’t know this album came out until I read an article somewhere online referencing it, and I thought to myself, “Oh, I didn’t know they had a new album.” It’d been out for months. And it’s all about my hood. The city I know and love. The city that gets beaten up and kicked around and set on fire and still bounces back with open arms, even if those arms are blistered and bruised and needle pricked and tired and weak.

It’s about Oakland, but it’s about the entire country, it’s about our times, it’s about the urban African American experience, and it’s, at it’s heart, a blues album. The Rolling Stones have been getting a lot of praise for putting out an authentic sounding blues album this month. But there’s nothing authentic in what Mick Jagger is singing — nothing urgent and vital. Fantastic Negrito should be getting the sort of attention the Stones are receiving. The Last Days of Oakland is an album at the crossroads where Sly Stone, The Coup, Mavis Staples and Muddy Waters merge, creating the best album of 2016.

Best TV 2016 – Returning Drama

rectify

Ahhh….some of you might be thinking (and by using the word “some” instead of “a couple of” is mostly delusion) — finally a post where I know some of these shows! I mean, you all have busy lives, how are you supposed to have time to add “new” things into it? The stuff that’s already laid claim to your attention is enough to keep you more than filled. But, in case you haven’t seen any of the below 5 returning dramatic series, now you have something to binge on during the holidays!

It was tough to narrow this one down – I pretty much only watch shows I really like already, otherwise it wouldn’t be “returning” to my DVR! It feels like picking a favorite child — so much depends on my mood, whether the chores were finished, if little Billy did his homework. Says the almost 50 year old dude with no kids….

Better Call Saul

BCS is a bit of a slow burn. I know many people who loved Breaking Bad but feel blah about Better Call Saul. I get that, but in a way, I don’t get that. It’s a subtler show, not as action packed, but the psychological tension is just as thick — and it’s a far more sympathetic show. Saul is a character we want to see succeed. I never felt that way, deep down, about Walter White. Bob Odenkirk is brilliant. It’s not easy to portray selfish man-child as likably as he does. Season 3 is supposedly going to be darker than the first two seasons, which is not surprising, considering last season’s finale. And, of course, the fact that Jimmy McGill hasn’t even become Saul Goodman yet.

The Americans

Another slow burner drama, similar to Better Call Saul, but without the layer of humor that BCS brings (that’s why I chose a blooper reel above). It was nice to see this finally get some Emmy love (in the form of nominations, not wins) even if most of the nominating committee most likely hadn’t watched a single episode. The show thwarts expectations constantly; as soon as you think you can predict where a plotline is going, you realize how wrong you are. I live for that. Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys are fantastic, the subtext in every glance, in every sentence, drips off the screen. I have a vision of D. Drumpf and Putin sitting in front of a 55″ 4K flatscreen, sipping martinis, watching this show with their pants off.

Happy Valley

OK, for all the amazing dramatic performances on TV in recent years, one that stands out for me, is Sarah Lancashire as Sergeant Catherine Cawood in the BBCs Happy Valley. The British seem to know how to write roles for smart, strong middle-aged women and this is proof #1. The action moves at a brisk pace, as each season is only 6 episodes, but the speed of the plot never feels rushed and only serves to heighten the tension in every scene. The mix of family drama and the murder investigation that threads throughout the season is perfectly balanced. Even the most minor characters are given depth and dimension in this not-so Happy Valley. Hoping season 3 is on its way.

Rectify

Season 3 had a finale that could have worked as an effective series ending, with enough mysteries solved (except for the “did Daniel do it?” question) to satisfy most viewers. I’m only 2/3 through this official last season, and although it remains as haunting and layered as ever, there’s something a bit anti-climatic about it so far. I have to say, there is not another show on TV that Rectify quite reminds me of.It’s not for everybody. It requires attention, an openness to leisurely paced storytelling mixed with elements of in your face melodrama. It’s another slow burn serial and Aiden Young’s portrayal of psychologically damaged Daniel Holden is a marvel to watch. He can be exasperating, awkward, strange, funny and thoughtful – all in the same scene.  J. Smith Cameron, as Daniel’s mother Janet, gets a good bit of (deserved) focus in this last season.

Transparent

For some reason Transparent gets lumped into the comedy category for awards consideration, but that’s probably because it’s a 30 minute show, not an hour, and some imaginary power-that-be decided that dramas must be 60 minutes. Bullpucky to that. Yes, all (yes, all) the characters are self-absorbed and entitled. Yes, their can seem like upper-class, whiny brats. Yet, somehow, each and every Pfefferman family member, despite their (often) self-made struggles, gets a moment or two of true honest redemption. Everything about this show feels made from a singular vision — impeccable writing and direction, brave acting, perfectly chosen music. I never know where the stories are going, but when they arrive at their destinations, it always feels like the right journey. There are few shows I truly look forward to seeing as much as Transparent.