Fishbone Doc at Roxie Theater – SF

Image

Just saw one of the best rock docs ever last night.  Everyday Sunshine – The Story of Fishbone.  And to top it off, Angelo and Norwood, Fishbone’s original members, played an acoustic set before the screening and did a Q&A afterwards.  I’ll talk later about the influence Fishbone had on me as a pesky teenager.  I will say that they will forever be the most exciting live act in the history of rock; and I’ve seen a lot of bands and a lot of shows. 

2 thoughts on “Fishbone Doc at Roxie Theater – SF

  1. Can’t wait to see this film. Truth and Soul was one of those records that came out at at time in my life when all kinds of things were changing for me. I began noticing hair in places where there was no hair before and…oh wait…that’s a different story.

    I was 24 in 1989 when I heard Freddie’s Dead, the opening track. I was a headbanging butt rocker, (you’ve seen the pictures) so consequently I’d never heard of Curtis Mayfield. I had no idea this kick ass tune was a cover. The whole cassette tape (didn’t have a CD player till 1990) was filled with songs about social injustice and all the while they are ripping on their instruments. Horns. Electric guitar. Funky drums. I was tired of the same ole same ole and looking for something completely different musically. Fishbone filled that void.

    Ghetto Soundwave is still one of those tunes that often finds its way to my ipod playlist. I’ll play it at a get together and someone will usually comment on a what a great tune it is. “Fishbone. “Hmm, heard the name, but I don’t have any of their stuff,” says the future Fishbone fan.

    “Yeah man.” “Fishbone, Truth and Soul.” “You should check em out.” “I guarantee you will dig it.”

    And another Fishbone fan is born.

  2. Good to see that their reach for Truth and Soul made it to Florida. One of the few benefits of growing up in the San Fernando Valley was some great music that came from there or through there. I didn’t realize (until seeing the doc) that all the original Fishbone members met after being bussed into the Valley from South Central LA, and, as the few black kids in an all-white school, gravitated to one another. It ended up being a blessing and a curse, in terms of widespread popularity, their uncategorizable sound that melded so many genres of music: funk, soul, heavy metal, ska, jazz, circus…. The doc touches on the fact that the black “R&B” music industry didn’t know what to do with them and the white rock industry kept trying to push them off to them.

    I was lucky to have seen them live at least half a dozen times, opening for bands like the Red Hot Chili Peppers, playing with The Untouchables, Meat Puppets, and actually headlining a show with Public Enemy and Stetsasonic.

    Here’s a link to a great article about them in the LA Weekly from 2000, during one of their many attempts at a wider-spread comeback.
    http://www.laweekly.com/content/printVersion/32085/

Leave a Reply

